The Rookie and The Veteran: Reflections on Campus Jobs

While many students decide to work on-campus for the financial benefit, there are even more reasons to do so. We wanted to share those benefits with you as we reflect on our experiences of serving as Student Academic Advisors.hero-friends

The Rookie:

In seventh grade, my life changed completely when my social studies teacher, Mr. Deering, told me that I could become great if I channeled my energy in the right direction. Mr. Deering expressed to me that I had an enormous amount of potential. “There will always be time to play, but these next few years of your life are very critical to where you will end up in the future,” he advised.

Since that moment, education has grown to be one of my greatest passions. The following year when I was in the eighth grade, I earned straight A’s all four quarters. Mr. Deering saw potential in me that I did not see in myself. I carried this motivation from Mr. Deering into college.

From the conversation I had with Mr. Deering many years ago, I was inspired to become a Student Academic Advisor. Through this role I have become a positive role model academically, motivated other students to achieve their academic goals of obtaining a competitive GPA, and connected students with on-campus academic resources to sharpen their academic skills.  I want to impact students in the same way Mr. Deering impacted me; I am blessed to have this opportunity. Being in this role as a Student Academic Advisor has enhanced my personal educational interest and allowed me to be successful academically.

The Veteran:

Reflecting on my freshman year at Towson, one of the best decisions I made was to become a Student Academic Advisor. From the moment I started the position, I was pushed out of my comfort zone and began attaining experience that I would be able to translate into the real world. As a Student Academic Advisor, I am no longer afraid of public speaking and have developed essential interpersonal skills.

Within my role as an SAA I have really discovered myself. My high school counselors are the reason that I was able to attend Towson University, and I knew I wanted some type of career in which I could repay their support. While advising at a university is different than counseling in a public school setting, this position allowed me to determine that my ideal career would be in an academic setting and that Psychology was the best major for me.

Although I love working in a university setting and providing college students with academic guidance, I have decided on becoming a professional school counselor to help low-income students become college bound. After graduating this May, I will be attending Johns Hopkins University to obtain my Master’s in School Counseling and applying the conversational and interpersonal skills from my time as an SAA. I would not be who I am or where I am today without my education at Towson University or my experience as a Student Academic Advisor.

 

Alex Alli, Student Academic Advisor

Amanda Sands, Student Academic Advisor

Academic Advising Center

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

